Ovarian Cancer Awareness

From 2007-2009 I worked in a research lab that studied Ovarian Cancer. It continually shocked me that we were so poorly funded. The more that I learned about the disease (it’s high death rate, it’s hard to diagnose symptoms, etc) the more shocking it was. My life has been very touched by breast cancer, so, naturally, it’s one that I particularly hope they find a cure for. However, there’s a ton of breast cancer awareness! There are walks, t-shirts, bumper stickers, etc, while the risks and symptoms associated with ovarian cancer are relatively unknown. I was happy, then, when I found this article on the Huffington Post this morning:

Famous Faces And Families Who Have Been Touched By Ovarian Cancer

I’m glad to see that ovarian cancer is getting some press, and that there are celebrities who are helping fund research for it. If you’re a woman over 55, talk with your doctor about ovarian cancer and its symptoms.

Leave a Reply

